How it All Began, The Day I Was Poisoned

It was a beautiful August day in 2012 where I had been living in Santa Monica, CA for 1 year. “I’ve never been healthier!” My body and my mood never felt consistently better! I even noticed that my hair was so easy to manage and my skin was tan and flawless.

It felt great, and I knew it would be helpful for me on my upcoming 2 month trip to Tokyo, Japan. I would do some partying and eat some unhealthy foods. But it’d be OK, because I was in such good shape.

The first month went great. I met some friends who i’ve met in other parts of the world. I made new friends. I even met a girl and we ended up spending a lot of time together.

I started taking Japanese lessons early on and my teacher and friends remarked at how quickly I was progressing. I was determined to get good at this difficult language of Japanese so I could more comfortably visit back there in the future.

I would go out often, and often spend a lot of money on restaurants. Tokyo was expensive, but I didn’t care. This is my vacation time and I wanted to enjoy this wonderful city. Tokyo was great. Everyone was so polite  and accommodating to me which I enjoyed. The sushi, the teppanyaki, the hot pot was all very tasty. The subway system was super efficient and easy to manage. What a great city! I still felt very healthy and energetic.

Then it went downhill.

On October 4th, 2012, about 2 hours into my sleep in my high rise rental in Roppongi, I woke up with the worst headache i’ve ever had in my life. I felt a deep aching to the bones of my body. “What the hell is going on?” I never get headaches and I have never felt this sort of bone pain before.

I remember having these terrible feelings of grief and agony. I wanted it to stop! I even remember telling myself that i’d rather be dead then feel this pain! The terrible pain remained for 1 hour, until I could finally find it in me to fall back asleep.

The next day, I did not feel well at all. I had no energy and my mood was terrible. I stayed in and my girlfriend took care of me.

I no longer felt headaches or sharp pains, which was a relief. I shrugged the incident off. However, my lack of energy and poor mood remained and I mentally made note of this. How come I went from feeling so healthy and energetic to consistently tired and irritable? I didn’t know and I shrugged it off.

I could not concentrate any longer. My Japanese teacher noticed in the next lessons that I could not focus. My mood was not good either, even though I did my best to manage it. My heart so wanted to continue to improve but my brain just could not concentrate! I ended up stopping the Japanese lessons entirely and spent more time with my girlfriend. Again, I shrugged the whole situation off and continued another month in Tokyo.

After October 4th, I had no energy to go out. I would wait until night time and go to a restaurant for dinner with my girlfriend, then come right back home. Such a drastic change since before October 4th, but why?

Standard

Leave a Reply

